This is the story of how I thought I might get engaged one weekend and then it happened

personal photo

Mr. Sword was very VERY aware of the fact that I wanted to have my family nearby after the proposal . Back around Christmas there was a wee bit of drama (and by drama I mean tears) when I decided he missed the “perfect” opportunity, but all was resolved and I realized what a pyscho I was being so I vowed to back off and just let me him handle things.

When we found out that Mom and Dad Sword were visiting us in Chicago one weekend in February, I had inkling he would seize the opportunity. I know it sounds sort of weird to some, why wouldn’t I want to be alone with Mr. Sword for such a special moment? Well, why do I blog about my inner-most thoughts? Why do I like to be perform in front of people? Why do I share private details of my life with complete strangers? All of these are great questions. The answer is, I love people, and my good news is your good news and vice-versa. I just wanted to be able to hug my Mom after the proposal, and luckily I got to do just that!

So all day on Saturday after picking up my parents from the airport, I was going back and forth wondering if this would be the day. It ended up being the day we stood in line for over three hours to see the top of Willis Tower.  I heard later that Mr. Sword said to Dad Sword, “I’d like to marry your daughter,” while we were at the top overlooking the city skyline. My Dad, true to form answered with a low fist pump to show his excitement. Later that night, he passed the good news on to Mom Sword and her next step was to quiz Mr. Sword to make sure he was marrying me because he wanted to and not because I was forcing him into it like some wedding crazed-freak (thanks Mom!). He confirmed what I already knew and told her he wanted to marry me.  Then (while Dad Sword and I were working on my taxes) Mom Sword and Mr. Sword thought up the terrible  brilliant plan of Dad Sword pretending he wanted to see the top of Trump Tower the very next day after church.

So on our way to church the very next morning Dad Sword suggests this idea and Mom Sword agrees to it, solidifying my suspicions. I mean, I come from a whole line of strong women and matriarchal families, since when does Dad Sword get to dictate where we go next?  This is when I started to get nervous.

After church, Dad Sword and Mr. Sword go back to the apartment to find that *Gasp* the Trump Tower bar is closed due to it being off-season. He then discovers that most of his ideal proposal locations are closed for that same reason and starts to panic. Eventually, they tell Mom Sword that they will meet us at the John Hancock Building at 3 PM. Of course, it makes no sense for us to wait in more lines to go back to the top of yet another tall building to see yet another amazing view UNLESS it is so Mr. Sword can propose!!

Meanwhile, I’m shopping with Mom Sword and having to use the bathroom every 30 minutes to umm, you know, because I’m soooo nervous!  Finally, we meet up with them and take the elevator to the Signature Lounge (essentially the Wine and Cocktail bar) of the John Hancock Building. We find a table and order drinks. I hold his hand tightly and squeeze it multiple times to let him know everything will be OK.  I later hear that Mr. Sword gives my mom a look of “I can’t do this in front of so many people!!!”  Poor Mr. Sword is a very shy person, which makes our proposal even more lovely and memorable because he stepped out of his comfort zone just for me!

Suddenly Mom Sword blatantly discreetly takes my camera from me and heads over to the window to check out the view. I debate going to the bathroom or not before deciding to follow her to the window.

And then…. Mr. Sword comes up behind me, puts his hand on the small of my back and at that moment I entered into what I like to call “the haze of happiness.”  He tells me he loves me and that he wants to continue loving me for the rest of his life. He gets down on one knee, opens the ring box, and says, “Will you marry me?” (YEA!!!!!!!!)

Then I say weird things like, “Ohmigosh, I can’t believe it, and thank you!” All before saying “YES YES.” We hug and kiss, Mom Sword starts to get teary-eyed, and we take more pictures. My parents are literally beaming, poor Mr. Sword is shaking, and I’m dumb-founded by the fact that I’m not crying. Instead of tears, I’m simply floating in my happy haze attempting to process every amazing moment.

My man did a FANTASTIC job and just because I knew it was coming does not make it any less special. Life works out the way it’s supposed to and I wasn’t meant to get engaged at the top of Trump Tower. The John Hancock, on the other hand, is the place he took me for dinner the first time we celebrated my birthday together. It’s a place I go with my nanny kids all the time, and the Signature Lounge is one of my favorite spots in the whole city to take out-of-town guests for a fancy drink. And now, when I take someone up to the 96th floor, I can walk over to the window where I got engaged and relive the special moment all over again.

Post proposal!

 

Happy Sword parents!

 

Blurry ring bling photo

 

(all photos personal)

I know Miss Lyre had an idea about her proposal too, did anyone else see it coming?  For those criers out there, did you cry when your partner popped the question or did you have an odd moment of tear-less joy like me?

5 thoughts on “This is the story of how I thought I might get engaged one weekend and then it happened

  1. Pingback: Never Thought I’d Do THIS | Journey to "i do"

  2. Pingback: Postponed! And then postponed again. | Journey to "i do"

  3. Pingback: A Scottish Dream Come True | Journey to "i do"

  4. Pingback: BIG NEWS PEOPLE, I mean it, this is EXCITING | Journey to "i do"

  5. Pingback: Engagement photos!! | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

