Kilt Woes from an American Bride

Soooo, our first big wedding-related fight discussion occurred about a month after we got engaged.  It was a discussion concerning the topic of kilts, which is traditionally formal wedding dress for a Scottish man.  Since Mr. Sword didn’t already own a kilt, we had to decide between renting a standard tartan, such as the Black Watch, or we could design our own…

image via Wikipedia

One of us thinks it’s too expensive to design a custom-made kilt and get it legally registered in Mr. Sword’s last name. The other person thinks it’s worth the money for a lifetime of family memories.

Can you guess who is on what side? My logical, realistic, super smart Scottish fiancé believes we should NOT go the custom route simply because we cannot afford it. He says it’s something we can do in three years time. My opinion is this, when is there ever an extra 1500 dollars lying around to spend on a specially made tartan fabric and all the accoutrement that go with it (and trust me there’s a lot of things, including but not limited to a man purse and a knife type thing).  There is always something expensive to buy no matter what the stage in life, ie. car, house, babies, etc, so why not now? Why not have the beautiful memories captured on film of this one-of-kind kilt for generations and generations to come?  This isn’t for us, this is for our kids who are going to grow up learning about both America and Scotland, and this is for Mr. Sword’s Mum and Dad, for his wee sister and her future family, for my family, for everyone!!

I close my eyes and I can picture my future with Mr. Sword and I can see our adorable (albeit pale) children and I get tears in my eyes.  While I know it’s a bit soon to start talking about kids, I can’t think of a better way to start  our new life together than with my future husband wearing a kilt representing his Scottish last name (and my new last name!).  Of course a custom-made tartan fabric is not the most budget friendly item, especially when most grooms spend a lot less on a suit or a tux rental.  But I would be so proud to have his family name attached to his wedding garb.

photo by Pink Sugar Photography/ via Edmonton Wedding Photographers

So we were stuck, at a crossroads.  And soon Mr. Sword was heading back to Scotland to renew his visa.  I was going to visit him for a week while he was there and I thought it would be a perfect time to discuss the kilt options again!

I knew just how serious I had become when I started begging Mr. Sword to rearrange some of the money in our budget.  I suggested we nix a videographer and also take money from my dress budget (yikes). It was that important to me!

Is anyone else trying to incorporate some part of their partner’s culture into the wedding clothing?  Who or what (if any) is your obstacle?

One thought on “Kilt Woes from an American Bride

  1. Pingback: A Scottish Dream Come True | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

