Why I will not be having a monogram at our wedding

“Why can’t we have a monogram at our wedding?” I asked this question out loud on the couch more to myself than to Mr. Sword but he immediately chimed in with, ” For one, you don’t know how to make one.”  BAHAHAHA.  This, unfortunately, is quite true.  I have no freakin’ clue how to design or make a monogram on a computer.  I’m sure you need some sort of special design program (and some design skills), but I’m pretty sure my first step would be to go to Microsoft Word, make the font really big, change the color, and then stare at the screen wondering why they don’t make an overlap key.  Mr. Sword knows me well, and I’m not opposed to asking him for help (hello, he works as a software engineer, he could figure something out), but there’s the other problem.

Most monograms at weddings include the first letter of the groom’s name, the first letter of the bride’s name, and the first letter of the couple’s new last name (usually this is the groom’s).  Monograms don’t have to be only initials but frankly, it’s the most common version I’ve seen and that is what I was thinking about when I posed my question.

The thing is, Mr. Sword’s first name starts with a vowel.   And while some first names starting with vowels look nice, A, and E for examples, his name starts with an “I” and well, that’s just confusing!  People mistake it for a lowercase “L” all the time and imagine it in a monogram!  People might think it’s just a line of decoration instead of an actual letter.  Plus, adding a vowel can turn your monogram into a real word and that word could be weird or inappropriate.  Such is not the case with ours, but our letters CAN make a word and that defeats the purpose if people look at your monogram and read a word instead of your lovely names.

Mrs. Hawk’s monogram rocks!

The good news is I think our first names written out, in lowercase letters, are adorable together and I’m thinking of putting them on our Welcome Bags along with the date of the wedding for all of our OOTG.

Does anyone else have a partner with an “I” as the first letter of their name?  Anyone else not doing a monogram for a silly reason?

Leave a Reply

