Tasting some chick-y and meeting with Coordinator A

After we ooh’d and ahh’d over the atrium (where our ceremony will be taking place), we were ushered into the restaurant to meet with our wedding coordinator A and to taste test our meal options.  Now, we decided right off the bat that chicken was more in our price range than steak, even though Mr. Sword and I both love a good steak!  But my all-time favorite meat is chicken (boring I know) so it seems fitting that we serve our guests chicken at our wedding.  We were served three dishes of chicken: piccatta, champagne, and the hotel’s personalized version, chandelaise. Each chicken came with a different potato and a different veggie option.  For potatoes, we could choose between scalloped, mashed, or roasted red.  The vegetable options were asparagus, green bean almondine, and a medley.

Drum roll please:  We chose the chicken chandelaise with a side of roasted red potatoes and a vegetable medley!!  I know some of our wedding guests are going to read this but I have no secrets when it comes to our wedding dish, in fact, I’ll probably tell most of them in person, perhaps like this, “GUESS WHAT?  We’re having this AMAZING chicken dish at our wedding, I know you’ll like it!  If I was rich you’d be getting an option of steak or fish as well, but as it is I really hope you like CHICKEN cause that’s what we’re serving!!”   Of course we will have a vegetarian option available for those non-meat eaters among our friends and family, and a chicken fingers and fries will serve as our kid’s option.

NOTE:  The chandelaise chicken comes with mushrooms, but Mr. Sword and I HATE mushrooms with a passion, so we are getting a special version of the dish without any ‘shrooms.  I’ve always been a picky eater and 9 times out of 10 I have to ask for something to be removed from a dish at a restaurant (yes I’m THAT girl), so why should it be any different on my wedding day?  🙂

I only got one decent photo of the food before myself, Mr. Sword and my parents devoured it all!

The thing is I barely had time to eat a bite from each plate because I was too busy talking to our awesome Coordinator A.  I call her a coordinator even though her real title is something along the lines of Catering Manager.  She’s been really helpful, especially talking to me on the phone before I’d even met her, assuring me of this thing or that thing since I hadn’t yet seen the hotel.

These are just a few of the things Coordinator A and I discussed!

White, Ivory, or Black linens?  Ivory.  Since ivory is one of our colors  it was an easy decision!

Napkin color: Chocolate brown.  While a  purple color sounded great, they only had one very ordinary shade of purple available, and I am scared that it wouldn’t  match the purple in the kilt we’ve ordered!  I don’t mind weddings that incorporate different shades of one color throughout their day, but I want to be intentional if I decide to go that route, not accidental.  Therefore, until we see the kilt in person there will be no buying of anything purple colored!  That includes bridesmaid dresses, ribbons, etc.  Plus, I think the chocolate napkins will compliment our centerpieces nicely, (more on that to come in a later post)!

Alcohol?   This one of Mr. Sword’s BIG decisions, because well, he drinks beer, and I don’t.  Since he’s European there will be no Bud or Miller at our wedding.  He knew he definitely wanted a more premium option of beer, but since we also have a lot of Americans attending the wedding, and we also know that most girls who drink beer prefer light beer, we had to have one Scottish appropriate beer and one American appropriate beer.  I’m keeping those decisions secret for now!  My Dad came up with the American light beer choice and Mr. Sword agreed that out of the possible crappy American beer options, that was one of the better ones!

Between the beer and the potatoes (his other BIG decision) Mr. Sword was a very helpful groom-to-be!  He listened when he needed to listen, supported when he needed to support, and offered his input fairly often.  I got to choose the wine, but we didn’t even discuss how many bottles to order and we barely touched on our idea of having a signature drink, but we are super excited about the concept of it!  This is Mr. Sword in front of the bar area of the restaurant in the hotel!

DJ: We will be using theirs. It’s just so much easier that way!  Plus, there’s a nice discount.

Cake: Buttercream (It’s part of our package luckily!)

Gift opening room for the day after the wedding:  Sure!!  Even though we aren’t expecting a lot of gifts, (they might be shipped to Chicago ahead of time and we think that people buying a flight to our wedding will be gift enough), we decided this would be a nice way to say hi to everyone one last time.  Mr. Sword and I are postponing the honeymoon until a few weeks after the wedding so we can tie up loose ends and continue to enjoy our out-of-town family before they return home, so a private brunch with everyone the next morning sounded like a great plan!

Draping:  No.  It was going to cost us 1000 dollars to have draping all through the banquet hall, and we couldn’t justify that cost.  Plus, Mr. Sword was complaining that the draping appeared to be hung so low it might hit his head (Mr. Sword stands at a tall 6’2″).  Alternatively, Coordinator A did suggested putting up a waterfall of draping behind our sweetheart table (we are opting against the traditional head table) that’s only 15 feet wide at 10 dollars a foot.  Once we heard that option, we were sold!  Now our table will stand-out from the rest with its own little backdrop!

Lighting:  This was a tough decision.  To put up extra lighting around the room is 600 dollars, but in the end we decided that wasn’t too much to give the room some nice ambiance and a good romantic feel!

Flowers: We opted to not use their floral centerpieces and instead we are going with something more unique to us.

Coordinator A and I also discussed things like TIMELINE and guest count.   It felt like the appointment went too quickly and I know we will probably end up meeting again before the wedding, but it felt great to be making decisions and it made me really excited for the BIG DAY!

(all photos personal and used with permission)

How did your first meeting with your coordinator or reception place go?  Did you find a package deal or are you booking things separately?

2 thoughts on “Tasting some chick-y and meeting with Coordinator A

  1. Pingback: To Drink or Not to Drink, That is kind of the question | Journey to "i do"

  2. Pingback: Get it on film! | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

