Manicures for my ladies

It’s time to talk about bridal party!  After we got engaged Mr. Scottish and I sat down to see who we wanted to have stand up with us at our wedding.  The thing is we weren’t quite sure how many of his friends would up for making the long flight over to the US, so we decided he should go first.  Well, when we were back in Scotland he asked three of his best guy friends to be his Best Man and groomsmen, and then we knew he was going to ask my little bro as well so that would make a total of four.  Four was my number.

Luckily, I’ve known my sister would be my MOH from the day she was born.  She is one and a half years younger than me and man is she annoying!  I wish I was joking but no, shes’ my sister therefore she’s annoying.  But she’s also one my favorite people in the whole wide world and she knows better than anyone (note, that is why she finds me annoying too).  She and I have bickered our way through years of school, friends, struggles, and joys.  We SHARE everything.  (GROSS ALERT, skip to the next paragraph if you are a guy!)  The only thing I got to do first was graduating from high school and starting my period.  TMI?  I thought so.

We got our ears pierced at the same time, my parents helped us buy cars the same summer, and we were invited to the same birthday parties.  We shared every family friend that was a girl in our age range, because for some reason no one else had two daughters close in age, and that meant we spent A LOT of time together.  We are really different people.  I am the center-of-attention hogging oldest child with a need to protect and care for everyone around me.  She is the unloved and moody middle child who loves to nurture and nest, but works uber-hard at everything she does.  Sister Big Eyes is a teacher like my Mom and an amazing one at that.  She’s getting her master’s degree right now (which is stressful enough by itself), raising my nephew-pup, and maintaining a serious relationship, how does she do it!?!?!  I call her Big Eyes because, well, her eyes are HUGE, and even more so when next to my squinty eyes.  My sister and I have different noses, different mouths, different hair colors, and most people can’t tell that we’re sisters at all.  But on the phone we sound exactly the same.  My sister is a strong, smart woman with a huge heart and even writing this I’m starting to tear up because I CANNOT wait for her to stand up next to me and be my MOH.  Also, she’ll probably be singing at the wedding, she is a sister of many talents!

Photo montage ahead: Look for the Big Eyes.  🙂

BFF L Dawg and I met our senior year of high school.  I was feeling lonely because my two closest friends had recently gotten boyfriends and were ditching me a lot to hang out with them, and while BFF L Dawg was in a relationship at the time, after she met me we become inseparable.   We had a science course together and for some reason I was absent one day and she had sat on my stool and apparently did an impersonation of me while I was gone.  The next day she told me all about it, laughing at her own impersonation and hoping I wasn’t mad.  Me, mad?  I totally loved her sense of humor and after that day we started hanging out all the time, and soon after became really close friends, only for me to leave for the University of Illinois that following fall.

BFF and I have had our low points, and the interesting thing is we’ve spent 9 out of our 10 year friendship in a LDR or long distance relationship (that was for my mother, she’d never have known what that meant!).  I can still tell her anything without her judging me, and I look forward to every visit with her.  She knows all my secrets, good and bad, she holds me accountable for things, and is a tiny bit over-protective, as all good BFF’s should be!  L Dawg is not only a great friend but she is also a wonderful person.  In her spare time she volunteers, fosters dogs, landscapes her own home (which she bought in 2009, same year as me), and gets invited to most of our family gatherings.  That is why she will be standing up next to me on the big day.

Photo montage ahead:  Yes, I have brown hair in the first two, those were taken after I dyed my hair for a show I was in!

Since these two ladies live in Minnesota and I was going to be in Minnesota to stalk my venue, I thought I would do something fun to ask them to be in my bridal party.  That is how we came to get manicures that Friday evening after our appointment with Coordinator A.  It was a blast (although the manicure was nothing like the manicures I get here in Chicago– said precisely in the condescending tone that was implied), and I’m so happy they both said YES!!

BM L Dawg on the left and MOH Big Eyes on the right.

So, if you’re keeping track, that is only two girls so far, but you’ll have to wait to hear about the other two on a later post!  I’d like to point out though, that my bridal party is going to be all family (L Dawg being pseudo-family).  I have some of the most AMAZING girlfriends on the planet.  The problem is I have too many of them and there was no way I was going to entertain the thought of having a 14 person bridal party, no way, no how! So I’m going to find other ways to recognize some of them, but for the record, I know so many fabulous women and they all mean the world to me.  I don’t know where I’d be without ALL of them!!  🙂

(All photos personal)

Next up, Murder Mystery dinner with the family!

One thought on “Manicures for my ladies

  1. Pingback: Bridesmaids continued… | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

