Honeymoon BOOKED!!

***We take a break from regularly scheduled wedding related programming to talk about the post-wedding vacay.***

I can’t even begin to explain how excited we are to be going on a honeymoon.  This has been IN the budget from day one and as the budget swelled there was never any discussion of skipping or skimping on the honeymoon.  The two of us were adamant about going somewhere warm to be beach bums after our wedding and there was no stopping us.  Shockingly, our honeymoon will be our first vacation together as a couple!  It sounds a bit unbelievable since we have been together since late 2009 and we’ve also been to Scotland (which of course was amazing but we all know the weather in the UK is less than desirable most of the time, rain anyone?).  While we’ve been abroad together, Mr. Sword and I have only taken trips to visit family or attend weddings, which means we never travel alone just to spend time together or simply to relax and slow down for a bit.  But we have been dreaming about it for a while and we knew exactly what we wanted to do.

The criteria for our honeymoon was this: beach, adults only, all-inclusive, and longer than 5 days.

SO, for the first two weeks in April of 2013 Mr. Sword and I will be going to the Caribbean to an all-inclusive resort for 10 whole days!!  SO EXCITING!!  (You might notice that the wedding is in the beginning of March but our honeymoon isn’t until April.  This is purposeful so we have time to be good hosts to our OOTGs, tie up loose ends back at work, and write our thank-you cards before jetting off.)  Mr. Sword decided we should get the upgraded ocean view room and with tons of restaurants, pools, miles and miles of white beaches, countless free activities, concierge service and a honeymoon package, I feel like the luckiest person alive!   But don’t ask me where we’re going.

The actual beach and location of the resort is an unknown to me.   The honeymoon was super important to Mr. Sword (he loves to travel and relax and doing both at the same time is a dream come true) so once we got engaged I put the honeymoon on his list of things “To Do.”  After he booked the trip I quickly decided I did not want to know any location details nor did I want to see any of the pictures (I hear they are gorgeous) because I feel like the less I know the better.  I like it when Mr. Sword surprises me and I think it’s going to make our honeymoon even more special if it’s a secret for me up until we leave.  Plus, I was able to let go of control over this aspect of the wedding planning and I’m so happy I did.  I won’t be able to over-analyze or research his decision, I’ll just be going with the flow, eagerly anticipating next April.

I’m thinking of turning of my phone/internet off for the two weeks that we’re gone, gaining back some of my pre-wedding weight loss and getting a sexy tan.  I’m looking forward to bathing in a post-wedding glow, doing a whole lot of nothing, and enjoying every minute possible with my soon-to-be husband.  The ONLY downside is that Sister Big Eyes’ wedding is a short two months later and I still gotta look good for that.  So I guess I’ll be doing some water aerobics in one of the pools after eating.  (Because I hate packing) I’m already dreading how I will pack for such a long and important trip while simultaneously daydreaming about shopping for cute honeymoon clothes.

Was a honeymoon part of your wedding budget?  Would you be OK with the surprise location?

6 thoughts on “Honeymoon BOOKED!!

  1. Pingback: Trash the Dress: Sisters Edition | Journey to "i do"

  2. Lady…turn of the phone, don’t check your email, etc. Besides the costs (roaming, data charges, etc.) you need to enjoy the time together. When I went to Mexico in Jan, I just made sure my mom knew the resort name/number/email in case anything went wing, and the everything was turned OFF.

  3. Pingback: Save the Date reveal! | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

