A Scottish Dream Come True

Remember how excited I was when the kilt arrived?  Well, it happened in such a flurry that I didn’t get much time to process the whole thing.  As I write this, I still can’t believe we have our family tartan fabric.  I’m sitting here imaging our future children wearing little baby kilts and it makes me laugh out loud and tear up at the same time.

Ever since we got engaged I knew deep down it was a good idea to pursue the notion of a personalized family tartan but I didn’t know how hard it would be or how blessed we would end up. This was one of my first unique wedding ideas and one of my best if I do say so myself.  Mr. Sword and I have made the decision that we plan to live in the US for an indeterminate amount of time, and I intend to keep his culture alive in our household for the rest of that indeterminate amount of time.

The night after Mr. Sword tried on his new ensemble in its entirety, we were sitting on the couch relaxing and chatting before going to bed.  I looked at him and asked him if it was worth all the money, the stress, and the waiting.  He looked at me and smiled, replying, “Oh yea, definitely,” instantly making me grin as well.

Mr. Sword and I have a few weddings to attend before our own and technically his work Christmas party is cause for formal Scottish garb, but we won’t be debuting his outfit until our Big Day.  It seems only fitting that his ensemble commemorates the start of our lives together since the tartan pattern is officially named Hislastname-Mylastname.

Here is my handsome groom at last!

(all photos personal)

Have one of your far-fetched, seemingly unrealistic wedding dreams come true?  How do you feel?  What do you think of Mr. Sword’s wedding outfit?

Leave a Reply

