“If you were gay, that’d be OK”

(Name that lyric from that song from that popular musical.)

I need to address something VERY important to me.  I need to openly share my feelings in regard to this topic.  I need to state that I believe ALL PEOPLE SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO MARRY WHOMEVER THEY DAMN WELL PLEASE.  Love is the most beautiful, delicate, fascinating, special, soul-building emotion you can experience and it should be celebrated.  Always celebrated.

Phew!  That felt good.  Thanks for listening to me Hive.  I know that I am not alone in this sentiment.  Bees before have shared similar feelings, and bees before me have shared how all love is not treated equal and how sad things can happen.  But even though it was discussed before me and will be talked about after me, until everyone is given the same rights of legal marriage, we need to continue talking about it.

I also think it’s important that those of us who identify as both religious and pro-GLBT speak up even louder.  I am one of those people, and because I don’t want to get into a huge political/religious rant right now because this isn’t the place for that,* I will stick to the reason this injustice pertains to my wedding.

In an effort of solidarity Mr. Sword and I are making a conscious effort to hire only those vendors that share our beliefs.  Our aim is to hire only vendors who do not discriminate against working for same-sex couples and weddings.  I’m happy to report so far so good with the vendors we’ve hired up to this point, and once it comes time to printing our programs I want to include something in them about the universal awesomeness of all our vendors.  🙂

And because I have a huge obsession with quotes, I leave you with one:

“What is straight?  A line can be straight, or a street, but the human heart, oh, no, it’s curved like a road through mountains.”

~Tennessee Williams, A Streetcar Named Desire, 1947

Are you recognizing anything in particular in your wedding?  (I figure that is a safe question but other positive comments welcome!)

*Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, that said, could we all enter from a place of respect and grace when commenting here on the Hive?  Thank you kindly!

2 thoughts on ““If you were gay, that’d be OK”

Leave a Reply

