Will you be my… (princess)?

I MADE SOMETHING!!  I was crafty and creative (shocking I know) and I made all of the women in my bridal party a personalized note to invite them to participate in my wedding.

Not only did I ask them to take part in some aspect of the wedding but I also gave each girl their own princess name/identity.  I used the classic Disney princesses for inspiration and told each girl why I felt she best fit with that princess.  Yes, I’m a HUGE dork, but I had a blast bringing the princess theme to my ladies as well!

My ladies include:

4 bridesmaids: Sister/MOH Big Eyes, BFF L Dawg, Cousin Jo, and Mr. Sword’s wee sister, four ladies who are truly special to me in so many ways and will make me the happiest girl when they stand next to me on the Big Day.

2 honor attendants: Besties H and C, who both know me better than I know myself sometimes, whom I’m blessed to have as friends, and whom I can’t wait to have near me on at the wedding.

1 flower girl: Also known as my nanny girl, a child I’ve loved since I first laid eyes on her when she was 11 months old, and who will probably make me cry when I see her walking down the aisle.

1 usher: (because I’m having kid ushers!) Better known as Cousin Dancer, who is adorable, a treasured part of my family, and perfect for the role of telling adults where to sit!

1 remembrance flower carrier: My lovely and adventurous Cousin Z will be walking memorial flowers down the aisle to remember those who have passed away and can’t be with us on the wedding day (but I think I need a better title for her!)

So, in true DIY fashion, I took pictures as I made my cards, and let me tell you, it was very difficult!  I mean, do you DIY brides normally photograph things yourself or do you have someone helping you?

I went to an Archiver’s in MN with Mom Sword during one trip home and the total cost of the project was about 30 dollars.  But I had a DIY Fail because I did not use a single coupon!  (Doesn’t it always seem like the best wedding project supplies are bought with coupons?)  Here are some step by step pictures of my crafting:

(I’m pretty sure my intricate simple steps are self-explanatory or I’d explain further.)

On the back of the card I glued a list called the “Princess Profile” so that the other girls could see who everyone else was, and I hope that either myself or MOH Big Eyes can use the princess profile in other gifts or cards as the year of the wedding progresses.

I gave myself the Cinderella princess because she has blonde hair her dreams came true just like mine!  MOH Big Eyes and Flower Girl nanny girl both got Belle, because not only do they look-alike (more than I look like Sister), but they also have a really special bond from years of hanging out when Sister would visit Chicago.  🙂

So that’s my BIG craft!  How did I do?  How did you ask your ladies to be in your bridal party?  Is anyone else having honor or personal attendants?  I feel like it’s not very common and not many people get the reasoning behind it!

One thought on “Will you be my… (princess)?

  1. Pingback: I’m a 28 year old Cinderella wannaBEE | Journey to "i do"

Leave a Reply

