Flowers… Meh

I feel like a bad bride for not really caring about flowers, but I know I’m not alone.   While I think flowers are insanely GORGEOUS, they aren’t something I’ve given much thought to in regards to the wedding.  Contributing factors to my indifference stem from NOT being a big fan of the outdoors in general (read: city girl), and it’s tough to spend so much money on things that don’t last very long.  Plus, when we first made a wedding budget we didn’t put much moolah aside for flowers because I knew we needed extra money in the areas of groom’s attire and photography.  Luckily I’ve eliminated the need for floral centerpieces, and for the men in the bridal party, we will be tying fake twigs and greens together and wrapping them in pieces of our tartan fabric which means the boutonnieres can be done ahead of time.  Score!

So our floral needs have been whittled down to 5 bouquets (one for me and 4 for my maids) and then 3 corsages (two moms and a grandma).

My first big decision was to decide to have real flowers.  The second step was decide where to order them and whether or not I want to pay to have then arranged or implore friends and family to help out (which has yet to be decided)!   And that’s as far as I got!  I got time right?!?!  When is my wedding again?  🙂

Fortunately, I have a very amazing Grandma Sword (my mom’s mom) who is into flowers and was willing to do some research for me at her favorite floral shop.  She gave me a few tips:

1. Sometimes brides are mixing real and fake flowers together so that they have something to take home at the end of the night that won’t die!

2. Grandma Sword’s florist recommended mixing both white AND ivory flowers despite the color of your dress.  This mixing of all different shades of white adds dimension and looks better than having just one color that can leave your bouquet looking flat.

3. If I go with all purple for my girls then their flowers will fade away in their dresses, if I go with all purple flowers then your eye will be drawn to the bouquet instead of my lovely face.  Mixing all shades of purple might be a really pretty way to incorporate that color.

All good tips!!  Although, I’m still at a bit of a loss.  I’m really unsure of how light I want my bouquet to be and have no idea what colors my girls should be holding!  Setting up floral appointments and researching ideas is not very high on my list of things to do, and I’m not sure why.  I know I want my flowers to be beautiful but my priorities for the wedding lie in other things, and you can’t make everything a priority or you’ll go crazy!  Next time I go to Minnesota I’ll get my ass in gear.  Yes.

I did find a bouquet that caught my eye though… I’m not even sure what’s going on with it but I like it!!

image via Offbeat Bride/ photo by Megan Clouse

One thing I know for sure is that we will be wrapping the bouquets in our family tartan. YES, IT WILL BE EVERYWHERE!  Scared yet?  It’s unique to us and our wedding so why not showcase it?  OH and one other special thing I want to use is FMIL’s suggestion of incorporating white heather into my bouquet.  She said it represents good luck in Scotland, and since she first shared the idea with me, white heather also reminds me of her!

 

OK, any words of wisdom regarding flowers?  Should I pay to have them arranged?  Any ideas for bouquets?

2 thoughts on “Flowers… Meh

  1. Yes it pays to have them arranged, you don’t want to have to do all that work. The bouquet you like looks like it has gerbera daisies, azleas (sp) and the green looks like irish bells??

Leave a Reply

