I feel like I’m being punished for having an early 2013 wedding

I have to gripe about something real quick.  It’s just a stupid little email from a potential hair and makeup artist, but it seriously annoyed the crap out of me and I find myself thinking about it more than I should be.  This one vendor says she can’t do my hair and makeup trial before the start of the new year.  She specifically said she cannot be flexible in booking my consultation.  Really?  Granted, she is being nice enough to offer to book me before the 1st of the year (even though it’s a huge exception), but she it appears that she is flat-out refusing to do my hair and makeup trial before the  normal 5-6 weeks before the wedding.  I mean, what if I was a January bride like Lyre or Gloves?  Would she make an exception then or are winter brides forced to have their trial mere days before their wedding?

This vendor’s email was just so annoying!  She said things like, “I understand you’re out-of-state,” but clearly she doesn’t understand.  Christmas is going to be my time in Minnesota to get shit done, and flying back and forth in Jan. and Feb. is something I’m trying to limit because of weather and other wedding related tasks that will have to wait until then.  I’ve talked about it before but being in a LDR with my wedding means I my schedule might be a bit different from other brides.  For example, I have a bridal shower coming up in MN in October, yes that’s a tad on the early side, but it’s the best month for my North Dakota family to get to Minnesota to help host it.  Then I have my Hen Do (bachelorette party) in November, pretty early again, but that’s when Mr. Sword’s AMAZING friends are flying him back to Glasgow for his Stag Do and I wanted to do mine the same weekend so I could host all of my out-of-town girls at our apt.  My Chicago shower will be in February to round out the festivities.

Plus, I’m nervous about using extensions for the first time, and I’d really like to have time (like more than a few weeks) to change my plans if I don’t like the way they turn out, but if I’m only in town for that trial and then the wedding, how would I have a second go at it?

I understand I’m booking things a bit ahead of the curve, but it helps me to stay calm (and Lord knows my friends and family prefer me to stay calm!!), and the comical thing is I am still in the researching part of the process, but this artist doesn’t seem to have any desire to try to convince me that she’ll be a great vendor, so I’m going to keep moving.  Unfortunately, the other company I was seriously considering has similar timelines and strict rules about when the trial should take place as well, and since my event is so far in the future they wouldn’t even quote me a price!  Although maybe that’s normal in the hair/makeup biz.

After hearing Mrs.Coyote’s hair and makeup nightmare, I’m even more certain that I want to go with someone I like and trust.  I’ve sent out another inquiry so I will keep you all posted on how that goes.  Clearly I’m in the thick of wedding planning because my panties got in a twist over one small email, but as someone who’s had years of bad skin, my wedding day makeup is very important to me.

I always pay for professional makeup when possible, like when I get my theatre headshots taken:

Sorry for the rant hive but thanks for listening, I feel so much better!  Anyone else struggling with booking things in the early part of the year?

Leave a Reply

