The hair and makeup vendor that called

I have good news!  The hair and makeup artist I contacted after being disappointed by inflexible vendors was a success! After decided that I was getting bad vibes from all the email connections I had made, I did a Google search (I heart Google) for other hair and makeup artists in Minnesota.  A few new names came up and this one woman had me smitten by her fantastic website.  When I found her “About Me” section, I was even more impressed by her openness and passion for her art.  Naturally, I started to look at pricing, and it was so easy to find, upfront, and reasonable that I clicked on the “contact” page to send her my information.

I received a very prompt reply with 24 hours and it was just what I was looking for!  She said she would be FLEXIBLE with my timeline, she said she didn’t have any steadfast rules about when the hair and makeup trial had to take place, she said she could travel to my wedding location, and finally, she said she’d call me soon to touch base.

Now I figured this was just a pleasantry because who has the time for all that?  So I emailed her back, explaining my wedding theme A Highland Fairy Tale, which tends to lead into me talking about how Mr. Sword is Scottish and I’m a Princess, and suddenly I’m certain I sound like a ditzy fool, and convince myself that this artist is going to think I’m too annoying or too silly to work with, but I hit “send” anyway.  Cut to the following day and I get a call from a MN number.  I instantly think of my potential vendor who had said she’d call and so I answer it.  WHOO-HOO, it’s her!

She was nice and bubbly, and literally on her way to a be a MOH in a wedding later that weekend!

She said that sometimes emails seem so formal and she wanted to touch base over the phone because it’s more personal. She said a hair and makeup trial around Christmas should be fine and that she would also try and fit me in for a quick style on the day of my shower in October!  (I had suggested we meet in October so that we could talk in person, discuss my options for hair extensions– which I’m very nervous about, and so that I could book her officially.)

Everyone’s advice was spot on!  Thank you Hive!  You really can wait for an awesome vendor that will work WITH you.  I will keep everyone posted on how things go in October, and once I’ve signed her as a vendor for the Big Day, I’ll pass on her information for all you Minnesota brides to enjoy as well!

SOOO, I guess this story is To Be Continued…

Did you wait to find a particular vendor that would be flexible with you?  Did you have any of your vendors make a point to call you?

2 thoughts on “The hair and makeup vendor that called

  1. Make sure to do the makeup trial in a well lit (preferably day light) area. I had to have two trials because the first one she used a foundation that was WAY too dark and I didn’t notice until I went outside and saw in the car on the way home. She was nice enough to do a 2nd trial but then she was late on wedding day! Are you doing air brush makeup? I liked it, stayed on really well and false lashes are a must!

Leave a Reply

