…What a Weekend Baby: 3, Miss Sword Pretends to Craft

OK, so I’m doing this series and I’m holding out on you guys because I have sort of a surprise coming when I recap the shower, but I have to wait a bit longer before I start sharing what happened, so in the meantime, I’m jumping a bit out-of-order to show you an evening of wedding planning in my parent’s home.  Sit tight while we watch (through photos mostly) the Sword women do a bit of DIY.

I decided a long time ago I would make our guy’s boutonnieres (since they wouldn’t be made of real flowers) many months before the wedding to minimize stressing about them as much as possible.  I wanted to make sure we started far enough in advance because  A) What if they looked terrible and we had to start all over? and B) What if this DIY thing is harder than it looks? (it is.)  So after gathering a bunch of supplies, Mom Sword, MOH/Sister Big Eyes and I all set to work making a few prototype bouts.

This is me working slowly hard.

After one pathetic attempt I gave up and Sister Big Eyes (aided by Mom Sword) gave it a whirl.

Below you will see what I came up with next to what Sister came up with.  My version is the sad piece on the left, hers is the one that looks like it will stay together for the duration of a wedding day.  Clearly, we had a DIY limitation on our hands.  CLEARLY.

Needless to say we’ll be going with MOH Big Eyes’ prototype, which started off with a bit of ivory ribbon placed behind the flower to make the tartan pop out, but in the end we decided it looked a lot “cleaner” and “finished” without the ribbon.  What do you think?

With this wedding decision tackled all we need is a few more tartan scraps and some free time so we MOH Big Eyes can get started on the rest of them!

But don’t worry, I definitely redeemed myself by showing off my scissor skills and cutting flowers to fill Littlest C’s flower girl basket with petals.  We plan on spraying them with perfume for a nice feminine touch.

Isn’t Fibonacci the best helper EVER?  He’s also Littlest C’s understudy…

(all photos personal)

What do you think of our hard work?  Do you like how the tartan is popping up everywhere?  Isn’t Fiblet adorable?!?!

Leave a Reply

