Hi My Name is Miss Sword and I Can’t Stop Shopping For the Honeymoon

Gah!  There, I said it!  Glad it’s out in the open.  We are so close to the wedding now and I am so excited to be getting married but since we’re so close to the wedding that means we’re also close to our Caribbean honeymoon and suddenly everything I see in the stores is A MUST HAVE!

The Swords will be going back to their regularly scheduled life after the wedding because we purposely wanted to give ourselves a few weeks in between the wedding and the ‘moon.  We thought it would be nice to have some time to unwind in between, as well as have something fun to look forward to post-wedding.  Another big selling point with waiting until the beginning of April was coinciding our trip with my nanny kiddos’ spring break so Boss Lady could take her vacation while she was sans nanny.

In case you’re wondering why I never talk about where we’re going it’s because I have no clue where we are going!  Read this post to catch up, but basically Mr. Sword booked the entire honeymoon by himself, making the big decisions like which island, which resort, which flights, which package, etc.  It was something he was excited about planning, and it was something I was excited about that didn’t have to be on my list!

Back to the shopping… I started off with a big purchase thanks to my tax refund money and a huge sale at Kate Spade.  Isn’t this the perfect handbag for a beach-y vacation?

Unfortunately it's all sold out at Kate Spade but you find here on Amazon

Unfortunately it’s all sold out at Kate Spade but you find it here on Amazon

Then there’s this maxi dress I found at a store called 2b in the Woodfield Mall.  I was shopping for a bridal shower dress and I literally did a double take.  I could totally picture myself wearing this on our honeymoon so I snapped it up.  My particular dress has a different floral pattern on the bottom but you get the idea from this picture.

image via 2b

image via 2b, currently unavailable

I also proceeded to purchase a pair of sandals, some cheap Old Navy flip-flops, and two other dresses over the course of the last few weeks.  I told Mr. Sword I’m just in shopping mode right now!  Coming off of buying lots of wedding gifts for our families and bridal party, I just can’t stop!  I’m also shopping for clothes for him since Mr. Sword has the least amount of summer appropriate clothing of anyone I’ve ever known.

I can also attribute my splurging to the fact that I’m just so excited to go somewhere tropical and warm for the first time!  I live in the Midwest and I vacation in Minnesota, Scotland or NYC.  I’ve been to Florida once when I was 10 years old, and LA once with a few girlfriends 4 years ago. That’s it!  Contrary to the snowy place we live, Mr. Sword and I absolutely LOVE the heat.  You’ll never find us complaining during the summer.  (For the record, my opinion is you can complain about EITHER the freezing cold winters OR the sticky humidity filled summers, you cannot whine about both, pick a side people!)  I choose to complain when it’s cold outside and I can’t wait to go south and sweat glisten for two weeks straight!  YES!

Finally just this weekend after stopping off for my favorite drink, an iced grande skinny vanilla latte, (yes I still drink those when it’s 20 degrees out and I’m wearing mittens) I went by our local Aldo store and picked up this beauty.

It was on sale for five bucks, how could I say no?

It was on sale for five bucks, how could I say no?

The odd part is I don’t own a single hat, and I never wear them!  In our family, there are two types of women, the ones that look good in hats, and the ones that don’t look good them.  I’m officially trying to change teams on this vacation.

Caribbean, here we come!  We’ll be easy to spot as I’m positive we’ll be the two whitest people on the beach.  🙂

(all photos personal unless otherwise noted)

Did you find yourself shopping a ton before your honeymoon?  Any tips on what you think are some Caribbean MUST HAVES?

Leave a Reply

