My Dirty Little Wedding Secret

Here it is, mere days before my wedding and I’m finally coming clean.  I’ve tried so hard to delight you all for months, I’ve shown you almost every single aspect of our wedding from the mundane to the exciting, and now I have one last thing to say:

I hate plaid.  Plaid is too harsh with its crisscrossing lines and it’s abominable mixing of colors that never seem to go together.  I don’t buy plaid shirts, and I don’t wear plaid scarfs.  I’ve never seen the appeal.

Wait!  What is plaid again?  Let’s consult the all-powerful Google, shall we?  Below is a screenshot from my laptop.

what is plaid

Oh that’s right!  Plaid is cloth with a tartan pattern.  So that means, THERE IS PLAID ALL OVER MY WEDDING.

And to be honest, I’m so excited I can hardly stand it! I should say, I used to hate plaid, because it looks completely different to me now.

In three days I get to marry my favorite person.  Years ago I dreamed of this day as a pastel-colored wedding with soft hues and a light and airy feel with a string quartet playing as I walked down the aisle.

When Saturday arrives I will be greeted by the dark, rich colors of our wedding and will get to see our beautiful family tartan covering everyone I love; I will hear the harsh but strong and dependable sounds of the bagpipe during my bridal march, and I will feel more intense love than I could ever imagine.  Dreams do come true.  But sometimes they don’t look the way you pictured them, which makes them even more like fairy tales.

(all photos personal)

How do YOU feel about plaid?  (aka  The most important question I’ve ever asked.  Don’t mess it up!)  Bye for now, I promise to check in one more time before I walk down the aisle!  Happy weekend everyone, I’m getting married!  EEEEK!

Leave a Reply

