Custom-Made Shoes In Review

Remember how I bought a pair of custom designed shoes from a shop on Etsy three and a half months before my wedding?  Well, I did.  I had a great experience with the owner of the shop and I paid 200 dollars for my gorgeous crystal-covered, tartan highlighted heels.

Wedding stuff and Museum Jan. 2013 037

Wedding stuff and Museum Jan. 2013 039

I know many members of the hive were interested in my shoe journey and I wanted to update you all on how my shoes are doing post-wedding.  I wish I could say my shoes look as amazing as they did when I first received them, but unfortunately, the rainy weather gave them a beating on our wedding day.  The painted eggplant soles took the brunt of it.

IMG_1851

However, the fabric had a rough time as well and was left stained from the rain (even though I did spray them with a weather sealer beforehand).  Perhaps I should have used something heavier and/or sprayed them multiple times?

IMG_1856

I’m also missing quite a few crystals from the base of the shoe.

IMG_1858

This little problem actually began weeks before the wedding day.  I was hell-bent on making my heels as comfortable as possible so I attempted to wear and walk around in them for quite a few consecutive days in a row for fifteen minutes at a time.  I walked up and down our hallway A LOT and then the week of the wedding I noticed that about 7 or 8 crystals had fallen off my shoes.  I’m not sure how normal this is, but I didn’t have to time to get too upset.  Instead, I went to JoAnn’s and bought some crystals and a little device that helped me glue them to the shoe.

Highland Fairy Tale Week! 062

I started to get nervous about losing more crystals so I decided to sit while wearing my shoes to stretch them out without damaging them further.  Every time I put them on they fit more easily and comfortably!

This looks like a bizarre beer ad.

This looks like a bizarre beer ad.

My technique definitely worked too!  I wore my wedding heels from 11:30 AM until it was 7:30 PM and time to switch shoes for the dancing portion of the evening.  Luckily this classy moment was captured.

Could I look anymore like a spoiled princess?!?!

Could I look anymore like a spoiled princess?!?!

I have the BEST friends in the world!  They helped me into my gold strappy heels while I stuffed my face with our wedding cake.  Amazing.

I can think of two big questions in regards to custom-designed wedding shoes:

1) Was it worth it?  Absolutely.  My shoes are divine and I had a fabulous day in them (despite the miserable weather).  I can’t wait to see them in my professional photos and I’m still happy I splurged to make my shoe dream come true when I could’t find what I was looking for in the stores.  Who knows, maybe I’ll get them all fixed up so I can wear them again one day!

2) Would you recommend it to someone else?  Probably not, because you might want shoes you can wear over and over again or you might think 200 dollars is outrageous to spend on one pair.  This route is not for everyone, but if you really want your shoes to be different or unique and you need the help of a professional then I’d definitely say go for it!

(all photos personal)

Would you order custom-designed shoes for your wedding day?  Anyone else’s wedding heels get mangled in bad weather?

2 thoughts on “Custom-Made Shoes In Review

  1. Love the before and after journey of your wedding shoes! If I could afford to, I would want custom crystallized shoes too! If you have time, please stop by my blog to vote on my Shoe of the Week 🙂

Leave a Reply

