Unplugged Honeymoon

I know my fellow bees have discussed the pros and cons of having an unplugged ceremony, but today I want to share why we’re choosing to have an unplugged honeymoon.

Heaven on Earth: Katrina & Matthews Queensland & French Polynesian Honeymoon – Part 2 Bora Bora

Photo by: Dandi on Polka Dot Bride via Lover.ly

(If you want to read about where we’re going and why I don’t know much about it, see this!)

I should really clarify something: “unplugged” in my eyes means NOT connecting with social media or communicating with others by using electronic devices in any form.  (Also, for what it’s worth, I LOVED seeing photos on Facebook the day following my wedding so I definitely didn’t mind have a plugged in ceremony!)

I just bought a new laptop hive.  It’s a really nice, compact Sony Ultrabook complete with Windows 8 and a touch screen.  I love technology even though I’m rubbish at working most gadgets.  Enter Mr. Sword.  He is intuitive when it comes to most devices and what he doesn’t know offhand he looks up and teaches himself (and then he teaches me).  We’re exclusively Android people because Mr. Sword doesn’t like Apple products (due to the lack of customization) and I just like to be different.  We’re those people that desire to someday run our entire house (lights, music, etc) off of one tablet that is located IN THE WALL.  We love all things Google, we are eternally grateful for the ability to Skype with Mr. Sword’s parents in Scotland whenever we want, and we both use Facebook to keep in touch with those close to our heart but who are far from our home.

We LOVE technology but technology is NOT welcome on our honeymoon to the Caribbean.  (Let’s assume for the sake of this post that WiFi is easily accessible wherever we are staying, which it usually is these days.)

While it would be fun to text “OMG this sunset!” to my friends or share photos on Facebook of our toes in the sand, the only person I want to be connected to on our trip is Mr. Sword.  That also means there will be NO browsing blog posts before dinner, playing games on our phones while waiting for transportation, or uploading pictures after a long day of sight-seeing.  We won’t be posting updates or tweeting about our latest excursions because no one needs to know what’s going on during our honeymoon. This trip will be about each other.

Side note: We will be keeping our phones with us in case of emergency but we won’t be using them for much else besides telling time (I don’t wear watches, ugly wrists).  And we’ll also be bringing our Kindles because there’s no better way to lug a large quantity of books with you and not take up a ton of space.

I know I’ve mentioned this before but our honeymoon will be our first vacation alone in over three years of being together which makes it extra special!  After our Big Day Mr. Sword and I went straight back into life and work.  We also had my wonderful in-laws in town visiting us in Chicago immediately following the wedding in Minnesota.  They were so sweet to be concerned about crashing with us newlyweds but we assured them our wedding was about family and we encouraged them to stay with us while they were still in America.  (We don’t get to see them often enough!)

The honeymoon on the other, we explained, is only about us.  The honeymoon is about relaxing after a stressful year of wedding planning, about spending quality time together that doesn’t include paying bills, driving in the car for 8 hours to MN, or buying groceries.  It’s about trying new and exciting things together, laughing our asses off, being romantic, and making memories to keep for a lifetime.  And that’s why it doesn’t feel right to bring technology with us.  Hello third wheel!

This also means I will be taking a break from blogging for a few weeks (can’t believe I’ve been a Sword since this past July!).  I’m going to take some time to be present with my new husband but I’ll soon be back with honeymoon posts and eventually wedding recaps (whoo-hoo)!

When we get home from the Caribbean we will be so excited to share our adventures with family, friends, Weddingbee, etc!  🙂  At that time we will choose which photos to post and which ones to keep to ourselves, we’ll choose which stories have to be told and which ones are better left unsaid, and we’ll update our status’ with life comparisons and complain about the lack of warm weather we had to come home to in the Midwest.  Life will go on and we will welcome technology back with open arms.  But on our honeymoon, it’s just me and him and it’s gonna be grand.

Would you consider an unplugged honeymoon or do you prefer to stay connected no matter where you are?  Did you go to the Caribbean, and if so where??  I’m going to miss all of you and your awesome comments and my fellow bloggers’ posts!  Sniffle sniffle.  See you all in a few weeks!  🙂

Love,

Mrs. Sword

Leave a Reply

