Swords of the Caribbean: My Big Fat Jamaican Honeymoon

Damn it feels good to be back!  Hi hive, long time no blog.  The Swords are back from their first beach vacation and they are the epitome of bronze gods.  False.  They only managed a wee tan (that has since left them) and one good day of sunburn (OK, that was just me).

Day One: Really White

510402292

Day Ten: Less White

510408118

Back in June of 2012 Mr. Sword booked us a wonderful package at Sandals Negril in stunning Jamaica.  He made a fabulous choice and we really enjoyed our beautiful home away from home on the famous 7 mile beach at an all-inclusive couple’s oasis.  It was an amazing ten days!

Well, an amazing 8 days anyway.  The first day I spent gawking at other couples (I’m a people watcher) and trying to make a schedule while squinting from the sun, and the last day I spent dreaming of my own bed and a shower with some power.

Am I the only person who thinks ten days is really freaking long?!?!  🙂  I kid.  Kinda.  I’m a person who is constantly on the go and while I love relaxing on the couch after a long day, I have trouble doing nothing for days on end.  It’s a habit I never really learned as a kid, just like ironing and sports.

The absolute BEST part of the vacation was spending so much quality time with Mr. Sword.  And it’s wonderful to be so happily in love after all these month of marriage.  (Sorry for the dumb jokes but I’m just giddy to be back!)  🙂

930407027

In all seriousness we had a blast laying side by side in lounge chairs next to the ocean and walking hand in hand on the beach.  We loved getting dressed up to visit all the different restaurants, flirting (with each other) in the pools, and cuddling up together in the hot tub.  It was a wonderful ten days and I know I haven’t been that relaxed in a loooong time.

930407094

If you’re wondering why there’s all of these professionally posed photos of us it’s because we spent a bazillion dollars for the rights to them and that means I must post as many of them as possible!

510408213

I was planning to go into detail about each day of our honeymoon but it would get pretty redundant fast (we ate, we went to the beach, we ate, we went to the pool, we ate, repeat) so instead I’m going to share a “to avoid” list and a “to do” list in my next two posts.  Hopefully they are helpful to those of you still planning your honeymoons and entertaining to the rest off you!

140405177

Fun facts in rapid succession with little to no explanation:

We arrived in Negril with seven full cans/bottles of sunscreen and used every last one of them.

I kept my phone off the entire time and never went online so our unplugged honeymoon was a success.

The Jamaican people are amazing and it was great getting to know some of them.

I ate a disgustingly large plate of nachos almost every single day and I drank alcohol constantly without ever really getting too tipsy.

930407007

(all photos taken by Snap Shots of Sandals Negril)

Are you considering going to Jamaica or another Caribbean island for your honeymoon?  IS ten days a long time or am I a crazy person?

Leave a Reply

