Swords of the Caribbean: The “To Do” List

Yesterday I shared my “avoid” list and today it’s time for the equally  exciting sequel!  These are the Sword recommendations for getting the most out of your amazing beach vacation.

DO THIS:

Do get up early to reserve chairs.  The simple truth is there are more people than there are prime lounging locations and to get a spot near the beach under a little canopy or right next to a pool you gotta wake up early.  Mr. Sword and I quickly learned that 7 AM wasn’t early enough so we set our alarms for 5:30 AM (punch me in the face) and took turns going to reserve our spots.

We gave up on trying to save towels and used my flip flops and a pink t-shirt instead.

We gave up on trying to save towels and used my flip-flops and a pink t-shirt instead.

Most mornings we were able to go back to sleep for a bit but some days we took a lazy nap around 1 PM.  Naps are fun in Jamaica, not so much in real life.  Mrs. Mink touched on this in her post about Jamaica too which I read luckily read before we went, so thanks for the tip Mink!

A view of the seating area by the beach and a squinty Mr. Sword.

A view of the seating area by the beach and a squinty Mr. Sword.

Do get a couple’s massage.  Because why the hell not?  Mr. Sword is the type of guy who LOVES massages but who refuses to let his wife massage him.  Why you ask?  He thinks I’m just roughly poking him and I think he just can’t handle my awesomeness.  So we leave it to the professionals, and it’s sexy.  The robes, the nudity, the side by side breathing, the low-lighting and sweet-smelling room, it’s all gooood.  And if there is a spa on your resort you should really check it out!  I also did a seaweed wrap because we had a credit to the spa leftover from our package which was fun but slightly less so because I wasn’t with my man (awww I know, so cute you wanna puke).

Posing near the beautiful fountain outside Red Lane Spa.

Posing near the beautiful fountain outside Red Lane Spa.

Do get a room facing the ocean.  I’m so happy Mr. Sword splurged on the ocean side view room (and concierge services for that matter) because I can’t imagine going all the way to Jamaica and staring at a building or your typical garden all week.  We were on the second floor and used our balcony often but probably could have enjoyed it even more!

I feel like I have a slight tan in this picture.  Success!

I feel like I have a slight tan in this picture. Success!

The best part was having a few private breakfasts on the balcony while still being outside and staring at the beautiful Jamaican beach.

I took all inclusive to mean order enough for three people at each sitting because there's no immediate bill!

I took all-inclusive to mean order enough for three people at each sitting because there’s no immediate bill!

Do try to wear lingerie as much as possible.  And no, I don’t have photos of this part you freaks!  🙂  Sorry if this is TMI but I think I might have brought more lingerie than swimsuits and my reasoning was this, 1)  I had just received a ton of it as gifts so most items were new and never before seen by Mr. Sword and 2) I knew there wouldn’t be a lot of opportunity for sexy beach vacations like this in the future and I wanted to make it special.  It was our honeymoon after all!

Do go for the concierge package.  From the minute you arrive you get whisked away to a special air-conditioned room for check-in that is only for concierge guests.  They book all of your reservations for you, including dinner, spa, and any excursions you want to plan.  But my favorite perks have to be the free mini bar complete with water bottles, pop, wine, beer, and hard liquor, and the complimentary robes in our room.

Comfy Swords relaxing.

Comfy Swords relaxing.

Do have one special and private candlelit dinner on the beach if the budget allows.  This was an evening I’ll never forget.  The food was amazing, the woman serving us was adorable and kind, and I was alone with my love on the beach in Negril.  We reminisced about our trip, our amazing wedding, and dreamed about our future.  Mr. Sword being the smart guy he is had us book our special dinner for TWO nights before we left so we didn’t have to spend our last night packing after our romantic meal.  Such a good call!

Part of the package included a bottle of champagne and a rose for the lady!

Part of the package included a bottle of champagne and a rose for the lady!

Do explore the freebies.  We took a boat ride in the glass bottom boat to view some fish and coral, we  took the two-person kayak out and tried our hand at the water trike (which was super lame btw).  We were going to go snorkeling which was included as well but Mr. Sword ended up with too much water in his ears and we didn’t want to make him even more uncomfortable.

Our favorite photographer Dale sneakily snapped this pic of us!

Our favorite photographer Dale sneakily snapped this pic of us!

There you have it, the Sword honeymoon!  We had a great trip with mostly beautiful weather (it rained a few of the days) and made so many wonderful memories.  Even though we kept to ourselves a lot of the time, we still managed to meet some great new friends that we hope to run into again some day!

I highly recommend going the all-inclusive route if you enjoy things like not carrying your own bags, gluttonous eating, reading on the beach, and doing a lot of nothing!

This is my favorite.

This is my favorite.

(photos by Sandals Snap Shots or personal to the Swords)

Next up, I’m gonna close the Sword honeymoon series with a request!  I’m going to share my packing list and detail what I actually used and what wasn’t worth bringing.  Hopefully this will help those of you gearing up for your moons!

Leave a Reply

