A Highland Fairy Tale: We (I) Eat Bacon While Getting Pretty

I woke up around 6 AM on the morning of our wedding to have a shower and a shave.  Usually I do a lot of thinking in the shower but I barely remember taking one that day!  I spent the morning lounging around with my girls in our hotel suite, trying to think too far ahead.

NO MAKEUP!  HAPPY!

NO MAKEUP! HAPPY!

My fabulous hair/makeup artist Laura arrived around 7 AM with two assistants in tow to help with curling and makeup.  Laura is a total blast to have around and she’s really good about making everyone feel comfortable while still making the bride feel extra special.  As you can see from the pics below, planning to have a specific girls getting ready room was a low-stress and super fun way to get ready.

I don’t think I will ever be able to express how easy and awesome it was to have everyone staying at the hotel where the wedding was taking place!  The ladies got to roll out of bed and ride an elevator (if they dared) to our room on level two to begin their day.  No coats, no driving, no stress.

Getting ready collage

As the morning progressed I started to get hungry and I asked the girls to bring me a muffin or something from the buffet; I just wasn’t up for leaving the room and running into people (especially after the craziness of Friday) and I really didn’t want to see Mr. Sword until our first look!

The girls brought me back a muffin which I proceeded to shove into my mouth nibble on. I love lemon poppy-seed muffins normally but today it was making me feel gross and nauseous.  In fact, I was so disgusted by said muffin that couldn’t finish it.

I tried to think of something that sounded good to my tummy, and I immediately thought of bacon.  Grease on my wedding day?  Why not?  Fatty bacon for breakfast?  Too late to lose more weight for my dress anyway!  The weirdest part is that I NEVER eat bacon.  If I do, it’s turkey bacon and I never crave it.  I swear I must have had a bridal baby (new Mrs. Sword phrase, no, I wasn’t preggo) in my tummy that was having a craving because it was so NOT like me to gorge on bacon for breakfast.

The girls brought me some bacon (thanks ladies!) and I devoured it.  Probably haven’t had a piece since.

red eye removed

I love that we are all wearing our getting ready tank tops and just chilling in the hotel room.

As the morning went on I stayed pretty relaxed even though I knew it was cold and rainy.  For some reason I thought, “It could stop raining by the time we want to take pictures outside.”  Such the optimist fool I was.  🙂  Spoiler alert: It did NOT stop raining but we still got some amazing photos that I can’t wait to share!

Next up, the photographer arrives and I put on some makeup for your viewing pleasure!

(all photos personal)

Did you crave anything weird on the morning of your wedding?  Did you panic about the weather or did you just ignore it like I did?

Sword Wedding footer FINAL

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

Leave a Reply

