A Highland Fairy Tale: We Lose Two Bridesmaids to an Elevator

When I last talked about the elevators at Embassy Suites I mentioned how painfully slow they were, but turns out that was the least of our lift related problems.

After arriving back at the hotel we were all so grateful to be inside and desperately tried to warm up fast.  BM L Dawg even grabbed a coffee from the hotel lobby; you gotta do what you gotta do!  At this point it was almost 2 PM and at 2 PM on my Day of Timeline it stated that we should be doing the “Family First Look.”  My vision for the family first look was that Mr. Sword and I would make our entrance into the lobby by coming down one of the elevators in a triumphant reveal of our wedding day attire to the clapping and smiles of both of our families.  That was the way it went in my head anyway.

Because it was already 2 PM instead of finding my hair and makeup artist, Laura, on floor 2 for a touch-up like I should have, I grabbed Mr. Sword’s hand and we proceeded to walk up the entire 8 flights of stairs in our kilt and gown to the very top floor to avoid being noticed on our way up (remember the elevators are clear and out in the open).

Coffield Wedding 0001

This took some time because I was terrified of falling backwards down the stairs (a normal life fear for me but especially on this day) and to be honest I still couldn’t feel my feet after spending 2 hours outside in 33 degree weather.  I had told Crystal we would be waiting on the 8th floor for her cue to come down the elevator for the big reveal.

Well once we got up there we waited, and waited, and waited some more, and Mr. Sword watched from above for a cue that never came.  At first I was jut slightly agitated, but after Mr. Sword called Honor Attendant H for an update only to learn no new information, I started to get frantic.  I did NOT want to get behind on my schedule and I was getting married in less than 2 hours!! Cue panic!  This had to happen now or never!  What was going on down there?  From what I could see (when I finally allowed myself to peek over the railing) Crystal was setting up her lights for the family photos but it looked like everyone was there and ready to see us.

Apparently, not everyone was there.

I got so frustrated with all the waiting that I grabbed Mr. Sword and pulled him into an elevator, shouting something about how they’re so slow that I was sure everyone will be ready by the time we got to the first floor.  But then I quickly realized I was going to ruin things if I rushed our big moment so I pushed the button to stop at level 7, riding the elevator for exactly one floor.  Clearly I was losing my ability to make calm and rational thoughts.

FINALLY, Mr. Sword gets a phone call (his cell phone was in his sporran thankfully) and he’s told that my Sister/MOH Big Eyes and BM L Dawg are stuck in an elevator on the same side of the hotel as us.  (Each side has two elevators for a total of 4 in the entire hotel.)  WHAT?!?!?  Stuck in an elevator??  Are they OK??

Poor Big Eyes and L Dawg had gone to see Laura on the second floor for a hair touch-up but somehow ended up stuck on level six with, get this, a non-working elevator telephone, and without their cell phones (hello pocket-less bridesmaid dresses).  At least L Dawg had her coffee! The photo below was taken when the elevator was back on the ground floor.

March 9th 222

We peered over the edge and could see them waving through the clear glass.  That’s when I started to calm down (just a bit), and realize the silliness of it all.  They both started dancing and our videographers started filming them and we soon we were all laughing.  Everyone on the bottom floor was pointing at them and Sister Big Eyes and L Dawg were being such good sports waving back.

My thoughts came fast: How long were they stuck?  How was I going to take a family photo without my sister?  Who can fix this and is that person in the hotel?  Is this going to ruin our elevator reveal moment?  I mean come on, I was still the bride!  🙂

To Be Continued…

(photo is personal)

Did you have any mishaps on your big day?  What did you do about them?

Sword Wedding footer FINAL.jpg

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!

Leave a Reply

