A Highland Fairy Tale: We Are Revealed and The Girls Are Freed

Last we left off, I told you my Sister/MOH Big Eyes, and BM L Dawg were stuck in an elevator with Mr. Sword and I on the 7th floor waiting to show ourselves to everyone waiting for us on the first floor for our family first look.

At this point I’m getting nervous, wondering how they’re going to get out of said elevator and how behind we are with my schedule.  It’s not clear in my memory but I think we get a call from someone to go to the other side of the hotel and come down one of those elevators while Big Eyes and L Dawg wait for someone to get them out!

Mr. Sword and I race down the hall, past some family with kids who say, “Look, a bride!” but I’m too preoccupied to enjoy the adoration and instead mutter “excuse me” while rushing past them.  Not my best moment.

We hop into an elevator and begin steadily toward floor one all the while praying WE don’t get stuck as well.

Coffield Wedding 0409

Everyone was waving and looked excited to see us FINALLY making the slow ride down to the ground floor!

Coffield Wedding 0410

Coffield Wedding 0411

We arrive to happy faces and some clapping.  It was relatively anti-climatic and not quite like I had pictured in my head, but I was SO relieved to be back where the action was taking place!  This is my What the hell is going on? face or my Thank God I’m not in an elevator anymore face!

Coffield Wedding 0412

Eventually a hotel maintenance guy came over to fix the elevator and both Sister Big Eyes and L Dawg were freed from it’s clutches after being stuck for almost 30 minutes!

They entered the main floor to the pomp and circumstance I had dreamed of for Mr. Sword and myself because everyone was beyond thrilled to see them leave that elevator!  It was a pretty exciting moment!  Luckily, I can share the spotlight, and I was very happy to see them safe and sound.

With all the commotion over it was time to begin the family portraits!

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

I love this story now because it’s such a crazy memory and we all still talk and laugh about those damn elevators!  Do you have a funny wedding story that still makes you laugh?

Sword Wedding footer FINAL.jpg

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!
Elevator madness!

Leave a Reply

