A Highland Fairy Tale: We Finally Take Family Photos

I know this a post many Blogger Bees gloss over because the family photos aren’t quite as interesting as bridal party pics or detailed reception shots.  For me, taking family photos was a special part of the day and I can’t imagine not including them (I promise I’m not including ALL of them)!  I blog to share my wedding with this community but I also blog for myself and my family so please bear with me!

I gave Crystal an hour to power through my family photography shot list and due to the elevator snafu we were down to 30 minutes, which was plenty of time in the end but I’m so glad I included the buffer!  Add extra minutes to your timeline, it will get used somehow!

Our ceremony took place in the atrium of the Embassy Suites, but we wanted to utilize a different part of the hotel to leave the atrium special for the ceremony.  We chose to take photos on the steps coming down from the lobby and it worked out beautifully.  No matter where you take large group photos, look for steps, it makes posing people ten times easier!

First up, Mr. Sword’s immediate family…

Coffield Wedding 0413

Mum Sword and Mr. Sword

Mum Sword and Mr. Sword

Scottish Dad and Mr. Sword

Scottish Dad and Mr. Sword

Mr. Sword and Wee Sis

Mr. Sword and Wee Sis

Mr. Sword had one cousin and her husband in California and one cousin that flew in from Scotland, plus Wee Sis’ fiance to make up the rest of this photo below.  He had more family that couldn’t make it due to travel, cost, and children, but we weren’t complaining!  Flying from Scotland to Minnesota is not a cheap deal!

Coffield Wedding 0420

After this we just added my family to the mix to get a whole group shot!

Coffield Wedding 0421

Then it was time for just my side.  Both Mr. Sword and I have relatively small but close-knit families which means we knew every family member who came to our wedding.  No third cousins or distant relatives in attendance!

Coffield Wedding 0423

Between Mr. Sword and I we had one set of grandparents at our wedding (the rest have passed away).  I’ve always been really close to my Mom’s parents, Grandpa F and Grandma J, and they’ve witnessed almost all of my major life milestones.

Unfortunately, Grandpa F has Alzheimer’s and it’s pretty severe so the fact that he made it to my wedding (and Sister Big Eyes’ wedding in June) was a HUGE deal.  They had to be picked up from Bismarck, ND and it wasn’t the easiest trip on them but I am so blessed they were present at my wedding and so happy I have these photos from the day.  Grandma J had her outfit picked almost a year in advance, and she looks fantastic!

Coffield Wedding 0426

Coffield Wedding 0429

The cousins photo was up next but first Laura surprised me by bringing her makeup to me! Apparently she hadn’t left yet and I was able to get a quick touch-up between photos.  Thanks Laura, you’re the best!

Coffield Wedding 0432

I guess no one knew what to do while they waited so they just stared at me!  Good work people.  Keep it up.

Coffield Wedding 0433

After the extra primping it was back to photos.  I have the best cousins ever!

Coffield Wedding 0434

Next up, my immediate family.

Coffield Wedding 0441

Mrs. Sword and Mom Sword

Me and Mom Sword

Dad Sword and Mrs. Sword

Dad Sword and Me

I love my parents but I also happen to have the best sister and brother in the world!  The three of us are really close.  They spoil me with their awesomeness.

Big Eyes, Me, and The Glue
Big Eyes, Me, and The Glue

This is my nanny family or as I also call them, my Chicago family.  Obviously I work for them but over the years it has become more than a career.  We share our lives, our families, our holidays, our ups and our downs!  I probably won’t be their nanny for much longer but they are stuck with me forever at this point!  🙂

Boss Lady, Big C, Me, Littlest C, and Boss Man  (I guess Mr. Sword didn't make it into this pic- oops!)

Boss Lady, Big C, Me, Littlest C, and Boss Man (I guess Mr. Sword didn’t make it into this pic- oops!)

Me and my babies!

Me and my babies!

We also got a photo of us with our two readers in the ceremony, Friend J (the guy) and Cousin J (the girl).  Looking sharp!

Friend J, Mrs. Sword, Mr. Sword, Cousin J

Friend J, Mrs. Sword, Mr. Sword, Cousin J

We also took a photo with Pastor P once she got to the hotel.

Coffield Wedding 0480

And finally, before letting everyone go we had to take a few more bridal party photos that included everyone from ushers to bridesmaids, groomsmen, honor attendants, and flower girl.

Coffield Wedding 0470

Coffield Wedding 0472

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

How much time did you or will you allot for family photos?  Thanks for soldiering through this post!

Sword Wedding footer FINAL.jpg

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!
Elevator madness!
Big reveal!

Leave a Reply

