A Highland Fairy Tale: We Promise (Ceremony Part Two)

If you missed Part One of the Sword ceremony, click here.

After her message, Pastor P began the vows and I handed my bouquet to MOH Big Eyes and turned to face my soon-to-be husband.  This photo of the atrium during our ceremony makes me weak in the knees, so lovely.

Coffield Wedding 0564

Did you notice the people on the top floor watching the ceremony?  We quite a few onlookers during our wedding but luckily no shouting!  I saw later that some people had been sitting in lawn chairs and drinking beers from a cooler, hilarious.  Love it.

Pastor P:

You have chosen each other to be your lifetime partner, to share all your hopes and dreams, your love and commitment, so as it is your intention to make this commitment by entering into marriage, I invite you now to join hands as you share your promises and your wedding vows.

Do you Mr. Sword, take Mrs. Sword, to be your wedded wife? And do you solemnly promise, before God and these witnesses, that you will love her, comfort her, honor and keep her, and be faithful to her, as long as you both shall live?

Mr. Sword:  I do.

Coffield Wedding 0568

Mrs. Sword do you take Mr. Sword, to be your wedded husband? And do you solemnly promise, before God and these witnesses, that you will love him, comfort him, honor and keep him, and be faithful to him as long as you both shall live?

Mrs. Sword:  I do.

Coffield Wedding 0572

Since you have shared your desire to join together as husband and wife and made these promises to one another, I now ask you to please repeat after me your wedding vows that you have written for each other:

Quick note on the vows, I actually wrote both sets and you’ll notice they are very similar for the most part but in some cases I changed a few words.  For example, Mr. Sword enjoys my passion for life while I enjoy his patience for life.

In case you’re thinking of personalizing your own (which I highly recommend), I wrote our vows after asking Mr. Sword a series of questions that you can find HERE.  It was important for me to know his thoughts first, but as the writer in our relationship he was more than happy to have me take the reins on this part of the ceremony.  He did have to edit and “OK” them of course!

Pastor P fed us each line split up in parts because she didn’t want us memorizing them but in hindsight, I wish we would have read them from a piece of paper so they could have flowed better (or maybe that’s just the writer in me over-scrutinizing?)

I guess it was nice to just stare into each other’s eyes to and hold hands.  🙂  Vows are in bold because, they’re the VOWS.  ha.  And I won’t write them twice, but we were repeating Pastor P each time:

Mr. Sword’s vows to me:

Mrs. Sword, from the moment I met you I knew you were someone who would fill my life with joy.

Coffield Wedding 0563

You are my favorite person because of your passion for life and your ability to laugh at yourself.

Today I vow to always respect your opinions, to encourage your dreams, and to build a future with you.

I promise to give you the freedom to change and be supportive when you do.

I promise to love your family as my own and visit them often, no matter how cold it gets. (this line got a nice laugh!)

I promise to try and make you laugh when you cry over important and unimportant things. (chuckles as everyone knows I cry A LOT)

Coffield Wedding 0565

I promise to be both forgiving and to ask for forgiveness often.

I promise to keep God present in our relationship and to always be thankful for you. (Apparently I mouthed “Thank you.” to Mr. Sword after this line and it brought honor attendant C Fri to tears.  We are an open book for the most part so everyone knew how much this meant to me to have him vow to keep God present in our relationship.)

I promise to be your faithful husband, loving and equal partner and our biggest fan.

Coffield Wedding 0566

Marrying you is my dream come true.

———————-

My vows to him:

Mr. Sword, from the moment I met you I knew you were someone who would fill my life with joy.

You are my favorite person because of patience for life and your ability to laugh at yourself.

Today I vow to always respect your opinions, to encourage your dreams, and to build a future with you.

I promise to give you freedom to change and be supportive when you do.

I promise to love your family as my own and fly to Scotland often even though I’m a terrible traveler. (Insert HUGE laugh here, thanks everybody, I know, I suck at traveling!)

Coffield Wedding 0569

Coffield Wedding 0571

I promise to laugh after I cry at both important and unimportant things. (This line was actually omitted by accident because I think Pastor P forgot to add it her script and I only realized it after writing this post!)

I promise to be both forgiving and to ask for forgiveness often.

I promise to keep God present in our relationship and to always be thankful for you.

I promise to be your faithful wife, loving and equal partner, and our biggest fan.

Marrying you is my dream come true.

Pastor P:

The wedding ring is offered as a symbol of love freely given; it is a visible sign of the love and commitment a husband and wife share with each other. The circle of the ring is unending, just as your love is unending. It is freely given, just a you give your lives to one another without reservation. It is worn proudly as you are pleased to share your own relationship with all those in your lives. It is worn in reverence as a gift from God just as God blesses you as you wear this ring.

So Mrs. and Mr. Sword, receive these rings as a sign of the love and affection you share for each other, and wear them proudly as a symbol of your binding union.

Mr. Sword, will you take this ring and repeat after me:

Mrs. Sword, with this ring I promise to share my life with you.

Coffield Wedding 0575

Mrs. Sword will you take this ring and repeat after me:

Mr. Sword, with this ring, I promise to share my life with you.

Coffield Wedding 0578

Mr. and Mrs. Sword have chosen to include the Celtic tradition of handfasting into their wedding ceremony today. Handfasting is a wedding ritual in which the couples’ hands are tied together as a symbol of their lives being joined together. Mrs. and Mr. Sword, marriage forms eternal and sacred bonds. The promises made today bind your lives together as these cords hold your hands together.

Please join hands as you make these pledges:

Coffield Wedding 0581

Mrs. and Mr. Sword, with this first cord, will you honor and respect one another, and seek to never break that honor?  (We will.)

Coffield Wedding 0582

With this second cord, will you share each other’s pain and seek to ease it?  (We will.)

Coffield Wedding 0584

With this third cord, will you share the burdens of each other so that your spirits may grow in this union?  (We will.)

Coffield Wedding 0587

With this fourth cord, will you share each other’s laughter, and look for the brightness in life and the positive in each other?  (We will.)

Coffield Wedding 0588

Mrs. and Mr. Sword, as your hands are now bound together, so your lives are joined in a union of love and trust The knots of this binding symbolize the vows you have made. Like the stars, your love should be a constant source of light, and like the earth, a firm foundation from which to grow.

May these cords of love remain forever symbolically tied, and may these hands be blessed. May they always be held by one another. May they have the strength to hold on tightly during the storms of life May they remain tender and gentle as they nurture each other. May these hands build a relationship of love, caring, and devotion. May you see each other’s hands as healer, protector, shelter and guide.

Quick note on the handfasting, we simply Googled different ideas until we found a nice frame of questions we liked and had Pastor P tweak it a bit.  We chose to do four cords to correspond with the four questions, two were purchased from JoAnn’s and two were made from our family tartan by Boss Lady.

Mrs. and Mr. Sword as you now have pledged your love and faith to each other, before your friends and family; and have sealed your vows of marriage by the exchange of your rings and the binding of your hands, it is my joy and privilege to declare that you are husband and wife, according to the authority entrusted to me through God and the laws of this state… Will you pray with me…

Mr. and Mrs. Sword may God smile upon you and grant you His love mingled with yours so that it may always be strong and good. May you know God’s blessings in all your days and years ahead as you grow together in friendship and love, and may you weather life’s storms guided by God’s Spirit so that your life may be filled with abundant joy!

At this point we each grabbed two of the four handfasting cords, one tartan and one rope, and presented them to our parents with hugs and thank-yous.  It was a special moment to honor them and now they each have a part of the ceremony they can display in their home (although how does one display handfasting cords!?!).

Coffield Wedding 0594

Coffield Wedding 0596

Pastor P:

Mr. Sword, You may now Kiss your Bride!  (WHOO-HOO!!)

Coffield Wedding 0597

(We really took our time and enjoyed our first kiss.)

It now gives me great pleasure to present to you, Mr. Sword and Mrs. Sword Hislastname!

Coffield Wedding 0602

And with that E started piping again and we recessed down the aisle followed closely by our bridal party.  I want to say our ceremony was a little less than 40 minutes long, it fit us perfectly and was just as lovely as I had imagined it would be!

I love the way Mr. Sword’s kilt looks in the photo below:

Coffield Wedding 0604

Coffield Wedding 0605

Who else did a handfasting and/or wrote (or is writing) their own vows?  Hope you enjoyed the Sword ceremony!

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

Sword Wedding footer FINAL

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look!
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!
Elevator madness!
Big reveal!
Family photos!
Posing with our flower girl!
True Scotsman indeed!

Ceremony
People processing!
Bridal cry/laugh walk!
Ceremony readings!

Leave a Reply

