A Highland Fairy Tale: We Ditch Our Own Cocktail Hour

After I finished hugging every single guest at our wedding, this happened:

LC0068

That’s right, I sat my ass down and relaxed for a minute.  My shoes were relatively comfy but they were still tight heels and I’d been standing for a good portion of the day already so my toes and legs needed a wee break.  Did you notice what was happening on the right side of the picture?

LC0070

Yep, I was being interviewed about my post-ceremony thoughts for our wedding video by one of our awesome cinematographers.  Mr. Sword got his turn as well but we must not have said anything too exciting because these interviews didn’t make the final cut of our video. haha

LC0073

After snapping a few more pics, Mr. Sword and myself went up to our hotel room on the 8th floor to be alone and spend some quality time together before heading to the reception.

I know there are two schools of thought on this, some say, do NOT miss your own cocktail hour, it’s a great time to mingle and visit with your guests, but I’ve also heard it’s so calming and wonderful to get a few minutes alone with your new partner for the first time as husband and wife and honestly, that is what appealed to us more.

So we skipped our cocktail hour and we went off alone without any photographers or videographers to relax and cuddle in newly married bliss.  It was a great way to regroup and I recommend it if you have a reception that will be on the longer side because trust me, you’ll still get plenty of time with everyone later on!

Of course our cocktail hour was still pretty awesome!  We had FBIL playing guitar and singing, and there were passed hors d’ oeuvres and lots of drinking because the bar was on us for the full hour!

Coffield Wedding 0618

Our signature drinks: a whisky sour named after Mr. Sword’s last name and a vodka sprite with chambord after my maiden name.

Coffield Wedding 0619

Coffield Wedding 0632

MOH/Sister Big Eyes even joined in the fun and sang with her future groom!

Coffield Wedding 0626

These are the only food photos I have from the entire wedding (thank goodness I’m not a foodie or I’d be seriously annoyed) and they are from cocktail hour.  Since we skipped it, once we arrived to our reception we found a HUGE plate of appetizers had been saved for us and was sitting at our sweetheart table, YESPLEASEANDTHANKYOU.  Everything was delicious!

LC0099

LC0101

LC0100

I’ll spare you multiple pics of guests you don’t know and leave with you just one, my friends (and both honor attendants) posing for the camera during cocktail hour:

Coffield Wedding 0633

From the looks of it, everyone had a blast, but I don’t regret anything and I was happy to have had those few moments alone with Mr Sword.  Plus, we had more energy for the reception and dancing the ceilidh, which was probably similar to performing in a circus (I speculate).

Finally, I wanted to save these pics for the end of this post because hive, seriously, these are my FAVORITE ones of Mr. Sword and I, mostly because I can’t get enough of the gorgeous lighting and the stunning fountain.  We took these before sneaking away to our room.  Our first portraits as husband and wife.

Coffield Wedding 0609

Coffield Wedding 0608

Coffield Wedding 0606

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

What are your thoughts on skipping the cocktail hour?  Did you or do you plan on attending yours?

Sword Wedding footer FINAL.jpg

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look!
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!
Elevator madness!
Big reveal!
Family photos!
Posing with our flower girl!
True Scotsman indeed!

Ceremony
People processing!
Bridal cry/laugh walk!
Ceremony readings!
Vows and handfasting!
Receiving line!

Leave a Reply

