A Highland Fairy Tale: We Take Care of Business

After the toasts it was time for dinner!  We had a three course plated meal of salad, chandelaise (I think our chef made that word up) chicken with steamed veggies and roasted red potatoes followed by wedding cake,  Again it’s clear we aren’t foodies and I know it sounds like boring wedding food but that’s OK because there was nothing else boring about our wedding!  And the food was damn good.

After the salad course Mr. Sword stood up and gave a thank you speech to everyone in attendance.  He was SO nervous but he did a great job.  No idea what he’s saying here or why my arms are like that!

Coffield Wedding 0663

It  was lovely to stand by his side as his proud wife in a room of our favorite people as he expressed our gratitude.  While I’m the more out-going personality of the two of us and a performer by nature, on my wedding day I just wanted to be a bride, and I think our guests were really happy to hear from Mr. Sword as well.

Coffield Wedding 0666

Coffield Wedding 0669

After scarfing down our meal at the sweetheart table Mr. Sword and I attempted the table tango to mingle with our friends and family.  Despite our successful receiving line, we knew once the dancing started they’d be no time for chatting so we made use of the dinner time lull.  Crystal followed us around to get some group shots as well.

collage of guests

After everyone had finished dinner we began the parent dances, a tradition that all of us were really looking forward to having at the wedding.  First up, Dad Sword and I danced to “Here Comes the Sun” by The Beatles.  Lucky for me, Dad Sword has some moves!

Coffield Wedding 0688

After the first minute or so, Mr. Sword grabbed Mom Sword and those two joined us on the dance floor.  We wanted to honor all four of our parents instead of just the Father of the Bride and the Mother of the Groom.

Coffield Wedding 0690

Following the Father-Daughter dance it was time for the Mother-Son dance and Mr. Sword and Mum Sword chose Stevie Wonder’s “You Are the Sunshine of My Life.”  I love this picture of them!

Coffield Wedding 0696

I grabbed my new Father-in-law to join me on the dance floor after the song played for a while and it was a really nice moment.

Coffield Wedding 0697

The parent dances were the perfect way to kick off the dancing portion of the evening!  Next up, Mr. Sword and I have our first dance!  We wanted to be the finale of three dances instead of the opening act and in the next post you’ll see why.  🙂

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

Did your groom do the traditional thank you toast or did you both speak?  Do you each ask your in-law to join in the parent dances too?  Is something you would consider?

Sword Wedding footer FINAL.jpg

Skipped some of the Sword saga?  It’s OK, catch up today!

Pre-Wedding
Teaser video!
Final preparations, snow, and tears!
Ladies’ Luncheon!
Elevators of anxiety!
Rehearsing and screaming!
Burgers and surprises!
Kisses at midnight!

The Big Day
Bacon for bridal baby!
Hair and makeup!
Men in kilts!
Tiara and bouquet!
Becoming a bride!
Champagne toasts!
First look!
Cold couple portraits!
The Swords with swords!
The men pose!
The women pose!
Altogether now!
Elevator madness!
Big reveal!
Family photos!
Posing with our flower girl!
True Scotsman indeed!

Ceremony
People processing!
Bridal cry/laugh walk!
Ceremony readings!
Vows and handfasting!
Receiving line!

Reception
Cocktail hour!
The pretty details!
Grand entrances!
We get roasted!

2 thoughts on “A Highland Fairy Tale: We Take Care of Business

  1. I think I’m going to steal you father and daughter dance. I’ve been wracking my brain for a song, because my dad and I don’t have a normal relationship. all the songs out there didn’t fit us, but this is perfect. he loves the Beatles!

Leave a Reply

