Rock the Frock: Sister Style

Hive, I am THRILLED to share these sister shoot photos with you.  I’ve been daydreaming about them since Sister Big Eyes told me last year that she wanted to do a photo shoot with BOTH of us in our wedding gowns.

I really want to post them without these downer disclaimers but truthfully I feel a bit self-conscious about my appearance in some of the pictures.  I’d been dancing all day at Sister’s wedding and was a bit sweaty and swollen.  Plus, for some idiotic reason I took my hair out of its side up do and it just doesn’t look right with no time or professional to fix it.  (Sorry about the whiny moment.)

That aside, these pictures are so incredibly special to me.  My Sister and I had a rough start to this wedding planning journey but in the end, there is no one in the world I’d rather have shared it with.

The location: Our parent’s backyard at their home in a southern suburb of the Twin Cities in Minnesota.

The dresses: Both Mori Lee with ruching and ruffles but hers is white, and mine is ivory.  Hers is a dropped waist, corset back, and beading.  Mine is a fit-n-flare with zip up and buttons down the back.

The men: Both of them officially our husbands now!  We actually hauled Mr. Sword’s kilt ensemble all the way from Chicago for this short shoot but it was totally worth it!

Strike…a…pose!

MG0737

MG0738

MG0742

MG0746

MG0758

This one is just of Mr. Sword and myself because we wanted a picture highlighting his sword cuff links.

MG0761

After we sent the guys away it was time for some sisters only bridal portraits.  We had such a blast!

MG0763

MG0767

Veils?  Yes please.  And not just to cover up my sunburn from Sister’s ceremony earlier that day…

MG0801

MG0778

MG0789

MG0826

MG0805

This next one has a good view of the differences in our bodices.

MG0811

MG0813

MG0834

MG0835

MG0792

MG0794

MG0832

Would you ever do a photo shoot with another bride, a sister, or friend, or otherwise?  I 100% recommend it!

All photos by Crystal Liepa Photography.

Leave a Reply

